ain’t no sunshine

I have mixed feelings about today’s run. With daylight savings kicking in, I missed seeing the sun on my morning run. Since I don’t have a window in my office and long hours keep me from seeing the sun in the evening, I can’t help but feel a bit bummed (though I know in a few weeks the sun will be back to rising before me).

On the other hand, it felt incredibly productive to have gotten in a run before sunrise. I feel like I’m finally getting back into the swing of early morning workouts – the trick for me is to have all my gear laid out the night before and to get out of bed and start getting dressed before my sleepy brain can start to complain. Once I’m on my feet, my heart and head both know that working out is the best wake-up routine, but when I’m lying in bed, my mind tries to convince me otherwise.

One step I need to add to my morning routine, at least in the next few weeks, is sun protection.  I neglected my skin care this weekend and I don’t want to make the same mistake again.  I love Neutrogena’s Ultra Sheer Body Mist for general use, but I’m still on the hunt for a good sunscreen to use on my face.  The products I’ve tried all seem to end up sliding down my face in a sweaty, stinging mess, well before the work out is over.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Body Mist(This pale girl’s best friend during daylight hours. The Cooling Mist version is phenomenal on hot days.)

I would also like to find a great pair of sunglasses for running.  I’m looking for a pair that will stay on comfortably and won’t need constant readjustment, ideally without breaking the bank.

What are your strategies for sun protection?  I’d love to hear your recommendations for sunscreen, sunglasses, or other sunny-weather gear I’ve overlooked.  Hope sunny days are in your running future!

♥ & pixie dust – LV

About thisprincessruns

training for and dreaming of Disney's 2014 Princess Half Marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

