making the best of a so-so run

So today’s run didn’t go exactly as planned. I thought I would try a 3:1 run/walk ratio for 3.25 miles. I went way too hard at the beginning and my ratio came closer to 1:1 at the tail end.  I did manage to cover 3.5 and ran a strong final quarter mile, but it wasn’t the run I was hoping for.  On days like this, I have to remind myself of the following:

No matter how slow you go, you are still lapping everybody on the couchI decided to add some stairs to my workout since I didn’t feel great about my run.  The combined workout took longer than I planned for, so my husband and I decided to skip our museum visit (which closed at 5) and instead walked around the National Mall with our pup.  The weather was gorgeous – can you tell from my expression how happy I was to be outside under a bright blue sky? (please excuse my post-run sweat “glow”)

Smiling under blue skies

We took an almost-four mile loop down the Mall and out to the Jefferson memorial.  So, despite not running as fast as I would have liked, I ended up having a great day, both fitness- and family-wise.

How did you spend your weekend?  Are you as bummed as I am that it’s over already?

♥ & pixie dust – LV

About thisprincessruns

training for and dreaming of Disney's 2014 Princess Half Marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

